Tub of Colloidal Silver

It’s strange how only part of my body floats in the bath of water.

It’s as if my floating arms aren’t actually floating,

that,

this feeling is yet another mirage within a series of mirrored half truths,

refracted at the point–

where the water displaces the air and sinks to the bottom of the basin.

As if

because

my arm is still attached to my body,

the origin of free-floating buoyancy cannot be severed from the tipping point of it’s anchorage.

I know it is somewhere within the boundary of where my shoulder hits the bottom of the tub, and my elbow feels weightless.

But

because

only one piece of my body is floating,

I do not believe I am floating.

Sensing the capacity for colloidal buoyancy reflected within this incomplete gesture,

greedily,

I need my entire body to be both submerged and supported by something more dense than me.

Leave a comment